The Servants and Other Strange Stories

John O'Donoghue

Grouped product items
Edition Qty
Limited Edition

The Servants and Other Strange Stories includes an Irish short story that never ends, a ghost story set in Keats’ House, an encounter between ‘the little people’ and an Irish midlands town. The collection also contains three novellas featuring a woman caught up in the Irish Famine, a private eye who discovers a secret Dublin police unit, and a man who is shipwrecked on an abandoned island off the West Coast of Ireland only to find it’s not so abandoned after all.

At the heart of the collection is ‘The Servants’, which tells the story of Seamus, a robot who has a vocation to the priesthood. Set in an Irish version of Asimov’s robot universe, the novella pays homage to Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, and Flann O’Brien’s De Selby.

Ranging from mystery stories to science fiction, The Servants and Other Strange Stories is Irish story telling at its best.


  • ‘The Irish Short Story That Never Ends’
  • ‘Bitter Chill’
  • ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’
  • ‘Refugees’
  • ‘The Spot in His Eye’
  • ‘Letters from a Famine’
  • ‘The Heart’s Needle’
  • ‘The Servants’
  • ‘The Islanders’
  • ‘Acknowledgements’

Limited to 300 hardcover copies

More Information
Publisher Tartarus Press