Tanith By Choice cover

NewCon Press

Tanith By Choice Tanith Lee

Limited Edition $40.00

Cover Artist: John Kaiine

Tanith Lee is one of the finest writers to ever grace the field of speculative fiction. The author of around 100 novels and several hundred short stories, she wrote two episodes of the iconic TV series Blake’s 7, was the first woman to win the British Fantasy Award – which she followed with two World Fantasy Awards, shortlistings for all manner of accolades including Nebula and BSFA Awards – and in 2013 she received a ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ from the organisers of World Fantasycon…

Tanith has left one heck of a legacy. I would never dream of attempting to compile a ‘Best of’ collection, so instead I’ve let others do so for me.

TANITH BY CHOICE features many of her finest stories, as chosen by those who knew her.


  • Introduction by Ian Whates
  • Red As Blood
  • The Gorgon
  • Bite-me-Not or Fleur de Fur
  • Jedella Ghost
  • Medra
  • The Ghost of the Clock
  • Cold Fire
  • The Crow
  • White As Sin, Now
  • After the Guillotine
  • Taken at His Word
  • The Isle is Full of Noises

With contributions from Storm Constantine, Craig Gidney, Mavis Haut, Stephen Jones, John Kaiine (Tanith’s widower), Vera Nazarian, Allison Rich, Sarah Singleton, Kari Sperring, Sam Stone, Cecilia Dart-Thornton, Freda Warrington, Nadia van der Westhuizen, and Ian Whates, each story is accompanied by a note from the person responsible for selecting it explaining why this tale means so much to them.

Limited edition hardback which includes patterned endpapers that feature photos of the author, many taken from the publisher's private collection.


Search by author name or title of book:

Browse by Author

Browse our titles by author last name then first name:

Browse by Publisher

Browse our titles by publisher name:

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter to be the first to know when we have new books and sales:


Ordering Information