Zima Blue and Other Stories cover

Night Shade Books

Zima Blue and Other Stories Alastair Reynolds

Trade Edition $26.95
Limited Edition $100.00

Despite the fact that Alastair Reynolds has published fiction in professional venues since 1990, with over thirty stories now in print, and has published six novels, two of which were nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and one of which (Chasm City) won the British Science Fiction Association Award, this is his very first short fiction collection.

It spans almost the whole of his career, ranging from “Enola” (which appeared in 1991, only his third sale) right up to recent work such as “Understanding Space and Time,” a novella written in 2005, and “Signal to Noise,” a new piece written specially for this book. It is the perfect showcase for the evolution of his writing and themes over the last sixteen years, and features extensive story notes.

Since 2000, Reynolds has been publishing large novels at a rate of one a year, all but two of them are set against a consistent background known as the Revelation Space universe. The stories in "Zima Blue," however, while occasionally related to each other, do not partake of that claustrophobic, machine-haunted history. They represent a more optimistic take on humanity’s future, a view that says there may be wars, there may be catastrophes and cosmic errors, but something human will still survive.


  • Introduction by Paul McCauley
  • Angels of Ashes
  • Beyond the Aquila Rift
  • Enola
  • Hideaway
  • Merlin's Gun
  • The Real Story
  • Spirey and the Queen
  • Understanding Space and Time
  • Zima Blue

Trade Hardcover

Limited 150 signed and numbered copies


Search by author name or title of book:

Browse by Author

Browse our titles by author last name then first name:

Browse by Publisher

Browse our titles by publisher name:

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter to be the first to know when we have new books and sales:


Ordering Information